NMSU Carlsbad Student named 2018 New Century Transfer Pathway Scholar

New Mexico State University Carlsbad student, Sarah Christensen has been named a 2018 New Century Transfer Pathway Scholar at the Phi Theta Kappa President’s Breakfast in Dallas, Texas on April 30th during the AACC Convention. Sarah scored as the top scoring student in the State of New Mexico based on the All-USA Academic team competition for which more than 2,000 students were nominated from more than 1,600 college campuses across the United States. Only one New Century Transfer Pathway Scholar is selected from each state. Sarah said ” It was an exciting and inspiring experience to be at the PTK President’s breakfast in Dallas. I was able to meet other PTK students from around the nation and learn from past PTK scholars that came back to share their experiences of how Phi Theta Kappa has inspired them through college and their careers. The breakfast was held at the Hilton Ballroom and students received medals and certifications for their academic accomplishment.”
The scholarship is sponsored by the Coca-Cola Foundation, the Coca-Cola Scholars foundation, PHi Theta Kappa, and the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC) Sarah applied for the scholarship through the PHi Theta Kappa chapter (PTK) at NMSU Carlsbad and was encouraged by her advisors Pradip Aryal and Misty McCormack to apply for scholarships that PTK has to offer. PTK Advisor Misty McCormack said ” I am very proud of her. She’s an exemplary student and she works really hard. She’s a good example of how hard work pays off and a great role model at NMSU Carlsbad”.
After graduating from NMSU Carlsbad, Sarah plans to study for her Bachelor’s degree in Kinesiology with an emphasis in Clinical Exercise Science at New Mexico State University in Las Cruces. Sarah said ” I would like to get my doctorate in Bio-mechanics and eventually either work at Boston Children’s Hospital or St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital.” Sarah, is currently a Crimson Scholar, an officer in PTK, and an Aggie Achiever Scholar. “We congratulate Sarah for receiving this prestigious scholarship, and we are honored to partner with the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation, The Coca-Cola Foundation, and the AACC to recognize her outstanding achievements,” said Phi Theta Kappa’s President and CEO Dr. Lynn Tincher-Ladner. “Scholarship programs like this are integral for creating opportunities for two-year college students to succeed and for putting college completion within reach.” Phi Theta Kappa is the premier honor society recognizing the academic achievement of community college students to grow as scholars and leaders. The Society is made up of more than 3.5 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in nine nations. Learn more at ptk.org.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.